BATH AND NORTH EAST SOMERSET COUNCIL

MINUTES OF COUNCIL MEETING

Thursday, 15th June, 2023

Present:- **Councillors** Michael Auton, Tim Ball, David Biddleston, Colin Blackburn, Alison Born, Deborah Collins, Paul Crossley, Jess David, Mark Elliott, Fiona Gourley, Alan Hale, Gavin Heathcote, Saskia Heijltjes, Oli Henman, Joel Hirst, Duncan Hounsell, Shaun Hughes, Dr Eleanor Jackson, Samantha Kelly, John Leach, Hal MacFie, Ruth Malloy, Matt McCabe, Sarah Moore, Michelle O'Doherty, Bharat Pankhania, June Player, Manda Rigby, Dine Romero, Paul Roper, Sam Ross, Onkar Saini, Shaun Stephenson-McGall, George Tomlin, Karen Walker, Sarah Warren, Tim Warren CBE, Andy Wait, David Wood and Joanna Wright

Apologies for absence: **Councillors** Alex Beaumont, Anna Box, Chris Dando, Sarah Evans, Kevin Guy, Ian Halsall, Dave Harding, Steve Hedges, Lucy Hodge, George Leach, Lesley Mansell, Paul May, Ann Morgan, Robin Moss, Toby Simon, Alison Streatfeild-James and Malcolm Treby

15 EMERGENCY EVACUATION PROCEDURE

The Democratic Services Manager read out the emergency evacuation procedure.

16 ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE CHAIR OF THE COUNCIL OR FROM THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The Chair welcomed all Councillors, former Councillors and their families and friends.

Following the recent death of former Councillor and Honorary Alderman Malcolm Hanney, the Chair asked everyone to stand for a minute's silence.

17 APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN AND ALDERWOMEN

The Chair invited Councillor Sarah Warren, as Deputy Leader of the Council, to move the motion, which was seconded by Councillor Tim Warren CBE.

It was then unanimously

RESOLVED that the former B&NES Councillors set out below should have conferred on them the title of Honorary Alderman or Alderwoman in recognition of their eminent and distinguished service both to this Council and its predecessor Councils;

Rob Appleyard - Councillor Paul Crossley spoke in support of this nomination.

Sarah Bevan – Councillor Karen Walker spoke in support of this nomination.

Neil Butters – Councillor Fiona Gourley spoke in support of this nomination.

Doug Deacon – Councillor June Player spoke in support of this nomination.

Michael Evans - Councillor Tim Warren CBE spoke in support of this nomination.

Andrew Furse - Councillor Dine Romero spoke in support of this nomination.

Paul Myers – Councillor Tim Warren CBE spoke in support of this nomination.

Lisa O'Brien - Councillor Alan Hale spoke in support of this nomination.

Vic Pritchard – Councillor Tim Warren CBE spoke in support of this nomination.

Brian Simmons – Councillor Alan Hale spoke in support of this nomination.

Chris Watt – Councillor Tim Warren CBE spoke in support of this nomination.

In accepting nominations, the newly appointed Aldermen and Alderwomen thanked the Council for the honour and many paid tribute to officers for all their hard work over the years, and their communities for their support.

Prepared by Democratic Services	
Date Confirmed and Signed	
Chair	
The meeting ended at 6.30 p	om